Polaris District

Polaris District serves the communities of Sunnyvale, Cupertino, and Saratoga.

Polaris District has 70 Scouting units, serving over 2,700 youth members, served by 925 Volunteer leaders. We are proud of the 115+ youth who earned the Eagle Scout award last year. Polaris is the proud home of CASA, the Chinese American Scouting Association. 

If you live in Sunnyvale, Cupertino, or Saratoga and you would like to get information on joining any of our programs, or participating on the district team,  please reach out to any of our leadership team listed below.

Service Area
Upcoming Events
Thu 13

Polaris District Commissioner Meeting

August 13 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Sep 10

Polaris District Commissioner Meeting

September 10 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Oct 08

Polaris District Commissioner Meeting

October 8 @ 7:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Connect with Us

District Leadership

District Executive

Anthony Pulliam

Anthony is a professional (Career) Scouter who gives full-time leadership and guidance through a team of volunteers to build community partnerships to support program delivery, membership growth and financial support for all Scouting units in Sunnyvale, Cupertino, and Saratoga.

He is an Eagle Scout, a father, and aspiring urban homesteader.

District Chair

Dave Holt

Dave is a volunteer member of the District Key 3 who gives leadership to the District Committee–a team of volunteers responsible for all aspects of finance, membership, and program delivery in Polaris.

Dave is an Eagle Scout and the Scoutmaster of Girl Troop 582 in Saratoga. He is passionate about bringing more young women into the Scouts BSA program.

District Commissioner

Robert Lupfer

Robert is a volunteer member of the District Key 3 who gives leadership to the Commissioner Staff– a team of volunteers responsible for supporting the health of the Cub Scout pack, Scouts BSA troops, and Venture Crews in the district. 

Robert is an Assistant Scoutmaster in Troop 407 in Cupertino, a merit badge counselor, and a Council trainer.

District Vice Chair
& Program Chair

Sheng Song

Guides the chairs that plans district activities and supports various unit program functions.

Vice Chair, Finance

Junaid Shabbeer

Leads fundraising efforts, including the Friends of Scouting and product sale campaigns.

Vice Chair, Membership

Steve Nguyen

Responsible for recruiting youth and starting new Scouting units.

Activities Chair

Laurie Hecker

Plans and hosts district programs and activities.​

Advancement Chair

Hersh Bhargava

Supports and promotes youth advancement in units, including the Eagle Scout process with the help and support of his Advancement Committee: Sally Erickson, Wendy Glasser, Larry Grace, David Lomasney, Harry May, Robert Nesler, H.C. Peng, Anthony Rodrigues, and Bill Wegner .

Assistant District Commissioner - CASA

Wesley Chen

Helps and supports the commissioning of all the units chartered by the Chinese American Scouting Association. 

Assistant District Commissioner - Sunnyvale

Benson Chan

Helps and supports the commissioning of all the units located in the city of Sunnyvale.

Assistant District Commissioner - Cupertino

Rebecca Feng

Helps and supports the commissioning of all the units located in the city of Cupertino.

Assistant District Commissioner - Saratoga

Rebecca Feng

Helps and supports the commissioning of all the units located in the city of Saratoga.

Camping Chair

Betty Chou

Encourages units to plan a robust outdoor program and promotes summer camp programs.

Communications Chair

Mark Ellson


Community Service Chair

Frank Oei

Leads, coordinates, and supports the community service projects and opportunities in the communities of Sunnyvale, Cupertino, and Saratoga.

Cub Camp Director - Stevens Creek

Michelle Ray

Directs the district’s Cub Scout Day Camp program.

Cub Camp Program Chair - Stevens Creek

Jo Young

Develops the program and helps direct the district’s Cub Scout Day Camp program.

District Dinner Chair

Christine Kim


Family Scouting Chair

Cindy Chock

Focuses on increasing girl-membership in the Cub Scouts and  Scouts BSA programs.

FOS Family Campaign Co-Chair

Betty Chou


FOS Family Campaign Co-Chair

Karen Dillon


FOS CASA Campaign Chair

Yvonne Wang


FOS Community Breakfast Campaign Chair

Junaid Shabbeer


FOS Leadership Campaign Chair

Bob Wedig


Membership Chair - Cub Scouts



Membership Chair - Scouts BSA



OA Advisor & Camporee Chair

Dave Low

Advises the youth in the Order of the Arrow, and helps them plan and lead the annual Scouts BSA Polaris District Camporee.

Pinewood Derby Chair

Daniel Lee

Plans and hosts the annual Cub Scout District Pinewood Derby​.

Popcorn Kernel

Kevin Barlow

Supports units in the annual popcorn sale.

Roundtable Co-Commissioner

Robertsen Ku

Plans and leads the monthly Roundtable meeting​.

Roundtable Co-Commissioner

Greg Spears

Plans and leads the monthly Roundtable meeting.

Roundtable Commissioner - Cub Scout Breakout

Mike Graff

Plans and leads the monthly Cub Scout Breakout at roundtable.

Scouting For Food Chair

Alvin Chen

Organizes the annual Scouting for Food community service project

Scout-o-rama Chair

Sandy Cheng

Promotes the Scout-O-Rama ticket sales and scout booth sign-ups

Social Media Chair

Stephanie Li


Training Chair

Dave McIntyre

Trains unit volunteers and youth to successful administer their position.

Webelos to Scout Transition (We.S.T.) Fair Chair

Angel Maszy

Plans the annual Webelos to Scout Transition event.

District Resources

District Roundtable –   Join us at our monthly roundtable meeting, where we cover a different training topic each month. Give us an hour and a half of your time, and we will save you so much more than that each month planning den meetings, pack meetings, and more!

Location – The Polaris Roundtable is held at Good Samaritan United Methodist Church, 19624 E. Homestead Rd, Cupertino, CA 95014, from 7:30 p.m. to 9:00 p.m., on the 2nd Wednesday of each month.

Monthly Newsletter:

Click Here to Sign up for the Monthly Polaris Star newsletter

Roundtable Email List

To join the Polaris Roundtable e-mail list, simply send an e-mail to the following address SVMB-Polaris-RT-subscribe@yahoogroups.com, and you will be automatically added to our Roundtable Mailing List.

Want more information?

Translate »